Dueling Banjos

Today I decided that I wanted to learn to play the banjo. Alison Krauss sang sweetly in my ears during my morning routine and suddenly the need to pick on a banjo was before me. As I sauntered happily down the hall, announcing my new found desire to play at a bluegrass festival, my coworkers looked at me bewildered. My air banjo (insert “Dueling Banjos” riff here) did not impress them, so I skipped on back to my cubical and continued with life as I know it. I dreamed of BEING Alison Krauss, only with bigger and better hair.

My affinity to stringed instruments isn’t new. Every time I hear “O Come, O Come Emmanuel” on a violin I cry tears of joy and ponder taking lessons. I’m not kidding, I shed tears and I listen to Christmas music year round, just to hear that song on a stringed instrument. Glorious. Truth be told I will probably never have the dedication to give to a banjo. Right now I’m looking longingly at the guitar that calls my room home, knowing I’m not going to play any time soon.

Tonight I did a little Cardio X’ing and slapped a coat of polyurethane on the table project in the garage. No banjo, violin, or guitar playing. It was a productive end to a pretty decent day… and I’m ok not being Alison Krauss. 🙂

PS: I’ve never watched “Deliverance,” but I’m thinking it needs to go on my list of things to do in life, just to say I know where that tune comes from.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dueling Banjos

  1. Brooke says:

    I like you a lot. Love reading about your heart.

Leave a comment