Speaking of berries…

Sunday afternoon ended up being fairly productive. I slept with sheets on my bed last night (success) and actually completed a list of things that I had no intention of even looking at. Maybe reserve psychology is something I should utilize more often.

In my attempt to procrastinate I managed to start and complete a little makeover for a berry box that belongs to my mom. It supposedly belonged to my great, great grandmother Daisy. If this is true then I just painted on something I’m guessing is about 100 years old. Awesome.

I sat in the comfort of air conditioning while sipping sweet tea and listening to Rosi Golan’s “The Drifter and the Gypsy.” I left the original green undercoat showing with intentional brush strokes for a little farm character. I used a warmer white and I skipped the entire distressing phase, as lighter brush strokes allow for the deep wounds in the box to be seen. It will find its way back to Mom’s kitchen table as a centerpiece I believe.

Before.

After.



The wine you see is from Arrington Vineyard outside of Nashville, TN. The vineyard is owned by country music artist Kix Brooks and is nestled in the hills close to Franklin. I picked it up in the spring while visiting Amy and it is AMAZING! I normally do not like desert wine at all but this one holds its own. Add a few nuggets of dark chocolate while drinking and you’ll feel like skipping through fields of berries… sort of. 🙂

Speaking of berries, I can now say that I have successfully grown raspberries. Inspired years ago by a row of berry plants in my grandparents back yard, I planted two raspberry plants last year. Sadly no berries were seen until early this summer. I did get to eat a few but then quickly realized that the plants in their current home are really just feeding the neighborhood rabbits and birds. Stupid. I will be digging them up and taking them with me though so we’ll see if a little added protection from pests results in berry consumption next year. And I’ll let you know how digging up a plant with thorns goes…

This entry was posted in Paint, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Speaking of berries…

  1. Sammye Kaye Moss says:

    I LOVE reading your wonderful writing and looking at the beautiful pictures you’ve taken. You truly are an incredible writer as well as photographer! I always look forward to what’s next on your blog!
    ILove U Very Much! Mom, XOXOXO!

Leave a comment