Cozy Quilting

One of my favorite childhood memories is waking up on crisp, early summer mornings wrapped in a quilt. I loved to sleep in the old swing on my grandparents screened-in porch at the lake. Light would stream through the trees early in the morning and you could hear the boats on the water coming to life slowly. I remember laying there for as long as possible, wrapped in a quilt. Cozy.

I woke this morning feeling much the same way. I hate to see summer go, but there is something about the comfort of fall and the relief of cooler weather that makes me enjoy snuggling up with a cup of coffee and sitting outside on the porch. I’m not talking about snuggling in just any blanket. It has to be a quilt.

There was a quilt on my bed during the summer months of my childhood. Made by my great, great-grandmother, my great-grandmother, and my grandmother, the quilts are worn with time and quite possibly the softest blankets on the face of the earth.

Upon relocating, I was gifted with a box of material that was in my grandmother’s basement. My mom has had it for a while and I took it thinking I might make a quilt.

Now I’m pretty much obsessed with making what is technically my second quilt (but my first one kind of sucked.) This one does not suck. I’m not sure if it’s the desire for something tangibly comforting or the need for mental endurance, but my queen sized quilt is coming along nicely.

I have successfully sifted through almost both of my grandmother’s sewing supplies. Between the two of them I’m pretty sure I will never have to buy thread again. 🙂 It was amazing to go through and see some of the vintage supplies. There is thread on wooden spools that cost 10 cents all the way up to recent purchases of my own. The price different between now and “then” is amazing.

I don’t get to say that I actually quilt. I’m currently trying to decide if I’m willing to learn the entire quilting process this time around or if I’ll just be making the top of it and handing it off to a more talented person and paying them to finish it. I may be all about making my own quilt, however I am not all about hand sewing ANYTHING. In that respect, I am lazy. So given the fact that I’m skirting around the part of the process that actually defines quilting, I can’t say that I quilt completely. I’ve calculated that I will be making 110 squares to finish the top of this particular quilt.

29 down, 81 to go. Bring it on. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cozy Quilting

  1. Pingback: Life by the Books | One Wild Hair

Leave a comment