Rainhill Equine Facility

“I heard a neigh. Oh, such a brisk and melodious neigh as that was! My very heart leaped with delight at the sound.” ~ Nathaniel Hawthorne

We all know I love me a random adventure. If you haven’t discovered that about me, it’s half the reason I renamed my blog. I need it. So when my BFF Ashley sent me an email asking if I wanted to visit an equine rescue facility one fine Sunday afternoon, I was ready to go, complete with cowboy boots.

We drove out the winding road that I have so many memories of driving years ago to my grandparents lake house. There is something magical about little girls and horses. When I was little, we would drive through the country and I would dream that all the horses we passed were mine. There was a large open piece of land to the left of a bend. It was my favorite stretch of the road because it led through a tunnel of trees with thick beautiful shade, spitting our car out into the bright summer sun on the other side. That Sunday, we reached my favorite bend in the road but we turned before the tunnel. This house that I passed for so many years of my life, with what looked like a billion horses to my little eyes, was actually an equine sanctuary!!!

Rainhill Equine Facility is home to 55 abused and blind horses. Each horse has a unique story of how they came to live on the farm. From a horse who now has no ears, the ones that were beaten and are now afraid of gentle human touch, to countless horses given up because of sight loss, each of these beautiful animals are sweet and just want to be treated and cared for with love.

A captive audience. Though they have every right to be skittish, most of these horses love to be loved on. These guys were bidding farewell to the brownie troop that was out for a visit.

Smooches.

This entry was posted in Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment